Who are the friends?

Oxford Botaic Garden and  Magdalen College

The Friends are a group of people who share a special interest in the Garden and who wish to retain its excellence both as a centre of education and research and as a place of relaxation and enjoyment.

The Friends are able to benefit from the resources that the Garden has to offer such as the library, annual seed list, coffee mornings and a Newsletter.

They support the garden in many ways including helping to raise money for special projects at the garden.

HRH The Prince of Wales

Lord Patten of Barnes

Vice Presidents
Lawrence Banks
Robin Herbert
Sir Simon Hornby
Valerie Lapthorne

Sir Ghillean Prance
Sir Crispin Tickell
The President of Magdalen College
The Dean of Christ Church


Trustees and Directors
Richard Mayou (Chairman), Jennie Turner (Secretary),
Doreen Cowan (Treasurer), Sarah Taylor, Crystal Dobson.


The Trustees: Jane Annett, Marie Jeanne Barnett, Leslie Cowan, Crystal Dobson, Sue Haynes, Mary Isaac, Martin Lamaison, David Newburn, Sally Oriss and Walter Sawyer.